Rooting for the Villain

Sabrina

Sabrina

Just a moment ago I was wondering why I tend to root for the villains on reality shows.  I came to a few conclusions.

On candid reality shows, I don’t actually root for the villain.  Nothing would please me more than seeing Kenya Moore twirl her way into oblivion on “The Real Housewives of Atlanta,” for instance.

On competitive reality shows, however, I do root for the villain when the fans have a say in the outcome of the show.  I guess I just like the contestants who torment the sort of television viewers who bother to vote for their favorites on these programs.  It’s not as if I’m trying to be contrary for the sake of being contrary.  I just like to watch the fans being tortured by people like Sabrina on “Big Brother Canada.”  The longer she stays in the house, the crazier the fan forums get as disgruntled viewers whine and complain about her conduct.

I felt the same way about Rachel Reilly when she won “Big Brother 13.”  I hated her in her original season unless she was torturing the equally obnoxious Ragan Fox.  But once she started torturing the fans, I became her number-one fan.  I wonder what that says about me?  Hmmm . . .

Leave a Reply

