Tyra Banks is Returning to Daytime!

Tyra

Tyra

I like daytime TV.  At the moment, though, nothing is really turning my crank.  “The Young and the Restless” has lost its sense of humor since Jill Farren Phelps took over the reigns at the show.  “Days of Our Lives” can be hilarious, but the arrival of summer means that plots involving stupid teenage characters I hate are going to eclipse the real stars of the show.  “Live with Kelly and Michael” and “Ellen” are both terrific, but where I’m from the former is on very early and the latter is on quite late.  In between there’s a whole ton of garbage, including “The Queen Latifah Show,” where the host has set a new standard for kissing the asses of her guests, and “The View,” which has exactly zero hosts who appeal to me now that Barbara Walters has retired.  Oh, and don’t let me forget CTV’sThe Social.”  Just yesterday I was telling a friend who works for the network that I’m surprised that women’s groups don’t form picket lines outside of the studio where they shoot the program.  I don’t know who thought that it was a good idea to watch a group of grown women gush about shoes and gossip about celebrities, but they should be embarrassed by the program’s regressive message and overall vapidity — and this criticism is coming from someone who watches the “Real Housewives” shows!  You know you’ve stooped too low when . . .

Anyway, that’s why I was so excited to learn that Tyra Banks has a new show in production.  Hopefully, the program’s message will not be unlike the message of her previous talk show that empowered its viewers by allowing them to watch Tyra talk to guests with problems like this.  All I can say is that I JUST CAN’T WAIT!!!

Leave a Reply

